0 Flares 0 Flares ×

Domain_News.png

ICANN Meets This Week in Mexico City – The ICANN meetings in Mexico City are under way through Friday, March 6. Among the topics to be covered are: new gTLDs, fast tracking of IDN ccTLDs, changes to the Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO), DNSSEC, IPv4 and IPv6, e-crime and abuse of the DNS, and improving institutional confidence in ICANN.

ICANN has issued a number of documents in the days leading up to the meetings, including:

Many sessions are being webcast, and a mobile version of the meeting site is available at http://icann.mobi.

Picks To Click

  • ToysRUs has bought toys.com at auction for $USD 5.1 million.
  • CIRA has announced the appointment of Ash Abhyankar, Malcolm Andrew, Gaston Gohou, and Susan M. Mitchell to its Nomination Committee. Each new member has been appointed for a two-year term. They join continuing members Tim Denton, Jim Green, Robert Guerra, Stuart MacDonald, and Omayma Moharram.
  • auDA, the Australian domain name administrator, has extended until 2014 its agreement with AusRegistry, the organization contracted to operate the .au registry.

Timeline

  • Tue, Feb 3 – Mon, Mar 23: .tel domain registrations available at a premium price
  • Sun, Mar 1 – Fri, Mar 6: ICANN meetings in Mexico City, Mexico
  • Fri, Mar 6: last day for nominations for the .ORG Advisory Council
  • Sun, Mar 15: last day for comments on one- and two-charcter .biz names
  • Tue, Mar 24: .tel domain registrations open to all
  • Mon, Apr 13: last day for comments on revised gTLD Applicant Handbook
  • Wed, Apr 15: last day for applications to the ICANN Nominating Committee
  • Thu, Apr 30: last day for comments on ICANN FY2010 proposed budget framework
  • Sun, Jun 21 – Fri, Jun 26: ICANN meetings in Sydney, Australia
  • Sun, Oct 25 – Fri, Oct 30: ICANN meetings in Seoul, South Korea
Share Button

One thought on “Domain Name News – March 2, 2009

  1. Very informative news! This opening Session will be a unique event in which representatives of the worldwide at-Large community are physically assembled to work on user issues as a global community.

    Reply

Leave a reply

required

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> 

Current day month ye@r *