Domain Name News - February 24, 2008 | Webnames Blog

Domain Name News – February 24, 2008

.ASIA Landrush Under Way – The landrush period for the new .asia domain was launched on February 20. A total of 266,663 landrush applications were received within the first 24 hours. The landrush period continues until March 12, and general first-come first-served registration is scheduled to begin on March 26.

Public Hearing On ICANN/DOC Mid-Term Review February 28 – On Thursday, February 28, a public meeting will be held to discuss the mid-term review of the Joint Project Agreement between the U.S. Department of Commerce and ICANN. The meeting will take place from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon Eastern time, and will be webcast.

Picks To Click

  • The Government of Canada’s submission concerning the midterm review of the Joint Project Agreement between ICANN and the U.S. Department of Commerce.
  • The Bank of Montreal wins a dispute over bmofield.ca.
  • Edward Hasbrouck comments on the sale of the .travel registry.
  • Vint Cerf, Internet pioneer and co-inventor of the TCP/IP protocol suite, and Martin Hellman, co-inventor of public-key cryptography, have agreed to serve on VeriSign’s newly formed Scientific Advisory Board.

Timeline

  • Wed, Feb 20 – Wed, Mar 12: .asia domain landrush
  • Tue, Feb 26: last day for comments on fast-tracking a limited number of IDN ccTLDs
  • Thu, Feb 28: U.S. DoC public meeting on ICANN Joint Project Agreement
  • Fri, Mar 7: last day for comments on the effect of new gTLDs on the DNS
  • Wed, Mar 26: .asia domain first-come-first-served registrations begin
  • Tue, Apr 15: last day for applications to the ICANN Nominating Comittee
  • Sun, Jun 22 – Fri, Jun 27: ICANN meetings in Paris, France

Posted in:

Domain Name News